Karnataka has traditionally been one of the strongest teams in the domestic circuit and has produced many of India’s iconic players. The team’s major achievements:


  • Ranji Trophy: 8 times (1973, 1977, 1982, 1995, 1997, 1998, 2013, 2014)
  • Irani Trophy: 6 times (1974, 1983, 1996, 1998, 2013, 2014)
  • Vijay Hazare Trophy: 6 times (1993, 1995, 1998, 2001, 2013, 2014)
  • Karnataka achieved the golden sweep (winning all 3 domestic tournaments in a calendar year) in 1998, 2013 and 2014.
  • Only Mumbai has won more titles than Karnataka.
  • During the 1996-97 season, half the Indian national cricket team was comprised of Karnataka players!
  • 5 of the top 10 greatest Indian bowlers of all time came from Karnataka. Anil Kumble (1707 wickets), B. S. Chandrasekhar (1071 wickets), Erapalli Prasanna (974 wickets), Javagal Srinath (940 wickets) and Sunil Joshi (820 wickets).

The 29 Karnataka players who have represented India at the international level:

  • 1950s V. M. Muddiah
  • 1960s Budhi Kunderan, Erapalli Prasanna and Venkataraman Subramanya
  • 1970s Gundappa Vishwanath, B. S. Chandrashekhar, Brijesh Patel and Sudhakar Rao
  • 1980s Roger Binny, Syed Kirmani, Raghuram Bhat, M. R. Srinivasaprasad and Sadanand Viswanath
  • 1990s Sujith Somasundar, Anil Kumble, Javagal Srinath, Venkatesh Prasad, Sunil Joshi, Dodda Ganesh, David Johnson and Vijay Bharadwaj
  • 2000s Rahul Dravid and Robin Utthappa
  • 2010s Manish Pandey, Vinay Kumar, Stuart Binny, Abhimanyu Mithun, Sreenath Aravind and K L Rahul


The team’s home ground is the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru (35,000 capacity), which recently became the world’s first cricket stadium to be solar powered. The newly installed 400 kW capacity solar panels will not only bring down the stadium’s power bills but will also generate revenue for the Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA).


The plant is designed to generate 5.90 lakh units per year, equivalent to powering 200 AEH (All Electric Homes) households using three KW power annually and also saving about 600 tons of carbon dioxide emissions annually.

Bengaluru’s Chinnaswamy Stadium Becomes The World’s First Solar-Powered Cricket Venue – The Better India
Bengaluru’s Chinnaswamy Becomes First Cricket Stadium to Install Rooftop Solar Plant

Leave a Comment

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.